American Indian Tribe . Com

"People of the Mother Mound"

Home Nations Languages Radio/TV
Books FAQ Websites Forum


The Choctaw are a part of the Five "Civilized" Tribes (Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Creek and Seminole)  who converted to the European way of life in the 1800s.

The Choctaw Indian Tribe was sub-divided into three separate groups, or "districts" named after their Chiefs: Apuckshunubbee, Mushulatubbee, and Pushmataha.  This form of  governement was "dismissed" in 1929 by the Mississippi State Legislature, when new laws established the State's control over Choctaw territory.

Continuing pressure by the United States Government eventually resulted in the Tribe relocating to Indian land West of the Mississippi River in 1831. This move allowed the three district Chiefs' powers to be transposed to the Oklahoma Indian territory, but even this was short lived, as a second state Constitution made it so the Choctaw Legislative body would be further divided into a general elected Council of 27, including 9 members from each respective district.

The Choctaw were the first Indian Nation to adopt a flag, which was carried by the Choctaw warriors who fought alongside the Confederate Soldiers during the Civil War.

seal.GIF (14332 bytes)

Home Nations Languages






   Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Copyright 2000
Designed by - Multimedia Pandora Inc.

Last modified: March 20, 2001